About Us

The Museum Purpose

As an educational and cultural institution, we are here to acquire, display, and preserve the artifacts, documents and records of the San Fernando Valley. With the help of residents, businesses, organizations and societies, we will build The Museum collections of historical items, the fine arts and the folk arts for the public to enjoy and for scholars to research.


Through The Museum's current home in western San Fernando Valley in the city of Northridge via interactive exhibits, website, blog, social media, tours for the public, schools and organizations, lectures and performances, Your Museum will share with the world what it means to be part and parcel of the great San Fernando Valley.

The Museum Story

The Museum began in 2005 out of a historic bungalow at L.A. Valley College. For the next three years, we secured some funds through small grants, created some exhibits and offered an array of events.


Several years later The Museum was housed at the Fashion Square mall in Sherman Oaks where thousands of people visited The Museum each month.


In 2014, The Museum moved to its current location in Northridge.

The Museum Programs

Primary Museum programs include:

  • Historic Walking Tours
  • History of  - Speaker Series
  • Narrating Lives: Oral Histories of the SFV
  • Public Art Initiative (PAI)
  • Artist - Speaker Series
  • Horses Across The Valley

The Museum Benefits

A major economic asset to the Valley and beyond.   


Improves Business and Residential Property Values

  • Stimulates External Tourism
  • Produces In-Tourism
  • Fosters Community Pride and Involvement
  • Secures a Fair Share of Cultural Funding for the Valley
  • Supports Valley Industries 

A major educational asset to the Valley and beyond:

  •     Supports Classroom Education
  •     Provides Services to Teachers and Scholars
  •     Offers Life-Long Learning and Cultural
  •     Stimulation
  •     Supports Career Preparation through Informal
  •     Educational Opportunities

A major civic asset to the Valley: 

  •     Contributes to Community Harmony Enhances Community Pride and Safety
  •     Adds to Services to Community Organizations & General Public 
  •     Creates Venues for the Work of Local Artists and Artisans
  •     Improves the Quality of Valley Life

The Museum Associates

The Museum Associates program offers members of the general public that possess experience and interest in a number of fields who want to support The Museum as a docent and volunteer and further the primary goals of promoting the history, art and culture of the Valley. 


Museum Associates receive training and will work with an existing board member or other experienced docent at the Museum during operating hours, on tours and special events. 


Two and three-hour shifts requested. Meet interesting people while you educate about The Museum and the valley.


Please contact us if you are interested in becoming a Museum Associate.

Find out more

Board of Directors / Staff / Advisors

Michel (Michael) Stevens, President

michel.stevens@TheMuseumSFV.org


Jackie Langa, Vice President & Secretary

jackie.langa@TheMuseumSFV.org


Lee Davis, Immediate Past President

lee.davis@TheMuseumSFV.org


Kristine Keller, Curator

kristine.keller@TheMuseumSFV.org


Dana Carl Dentzel, Board Member

carl.dentzel@TheMuseumSFV.org


Dana Radke, Board Member

dana.radke@TheMuseumSFV.org


Suzanne Scheld, Ph.D., Board Member

suzanne.scheld@TheMuseumSFV.org


Leah Cartabruno, Board Member

leah.cartabruno@TheMuseumSFV.org


Sarah Kline

Student Board Member

sarah.kline@TheMuseumSFV.org


Staff:

Bill Carpenter, Director Historic Walking Tours 

bill.carpenter@TheMuseumSFV.org


Advisors:

Gary Fredburg

gary.fredburg@TheMuseumSFV.org

Member, Artifact Committee


Steve Falk

steve.falk@TheMuseumSFV.org

Member, Development Committee